Dermatology Consultation!

Hello Everybody!

As some of you may know, I have been saving my pennies to see a Dermatologist to try and sort out my Rosacea and Acne and finally I went along in November 2015.

I was recommend to see Dr Anne Farrell by a lovely friend of mine who also suffers with Rosacea.

IMG_0467 (1)

Dr Farrell is lovely, and also suffers with Rosacea herself. With years of experience and extensive research I knew I was in good hands and her clinic itself is beautiful – I was shown to a lovely waiting room and offered tea, coffee or water. As I made myself comfortable on the plush sofa’s I waited for Dr Farrell to call me through.

When she called me through, I was taken to her consultation room. I explained all my symptoms and showed her what products I had been using on my skin. Dr Farrell asked me questions so she could get an overview of everything.

I then sat on her consultation bed and she thoroughly examined my skin – confirming that yes I do have Rosacea and from this, Dr Farrell has prescribed two medicated creams, tablets, and a lotion to dab onto my acne. I was also recommended two types of mositurisers, a cleanser and a sunblock – I was given samples for all of these to try and I’m pleased to say that I got on really well with them all.

Dr Farrell has asked that I use one of the medicated creams on one side of my face and the other cream on the other side.

The cream I am applying to my left side is Finacea and it does sting a little which is normal.

IMG_0461

The cream to the right side of my face is Rozex.

IMG_0462

Dr Farrell wants me to apply these cream like this, as to see which one works better for me and to do so twice a day. So far I have found the Finacea cream to be working slightly better for me as my left side is clearing up quicker than my right. Both creams are designed to help calm a Rosacea flare up and to keep it calm in the long run. Dr Farrell asked for me to use these creams for as long as I felt necessary.

For my acne I am applying Dalacin a clear lotion that I gently dab onto the acne twice a day.

IMG_0466

I have to apply these lotions after I have cleansed and before I apply moisturiser.

The tablets I have been prescribed are Oxytetracycline and I am to take these twice a day. This is an antiobiotic to help reduce my Rosacea and its flare ups.

IMG_0459

Next I will apply the moisturiser I have been given to try. It’s by Skinceuticals and it’s their Redness Neutraliser which I adore. It’s soft, gentle, deeply moisturising, leaving my skin ever so soft. I still can’t say at this moment in time whether it solely reduces my redness as I am also using the other medicated creams, but it certainly is a lovely product to use that doesn’t cause a reaction.

IMG_0460

Once all the above is done I can then use the SPF40 block (mornings only) recommended to me and I really do like it. It’s not thick or heavy and feels so light when you apply it to the skin and sinks in quickly. A little goes a very long way!

IMG_0464

The cleanser I have bought has been recommended to all of Dr Farrell’s Rosacea patients and it is Avene Tolerance Extreme. A soft cleanser that’s a milky, cream texture. So far it seems okay, I don’t react to it but I do prefer my Eminence Organics Calming Chamomile Cleanser. It isn’t very good at getting all of my make up off, so I tend to use this once I have either used a micellar water or my Clinique Redness Solutions cleanser to rid my face of dirt and make up.

IMG_0465

I asked about make up and what I should/shouldn’t wear as leading up to the consultation, I was wearing my Clinique Almost Powder as my flare ups were really bad. Dr Farrell’s nurse replied that a powder foundation is better for my acne but for my Rosacea it is up to my preference whether I use powder of liquid foundation.

Following on from my initial consultation, I have had further treatment at the clinic with the use of laser and light therapy to get rid of my dreaded facial redness. I will be blogging about this experience very soon and I’ll have before and after photos to show you all, but I am really, REALLY pleased with the results so far and that is after only two sessions! 🙂

nightime skincare with derm products

I cannot tell you just how relieved I am that something can be done to ease my Rosacea and hopefully get rid of the redness. It is extremely costly but if it really affects you like it has/does me, then it is so worth saving up for. On two occasions now I have left the house with no make up on – something I haven’t done in years. Okay, so it was only to pop into Tesco but for me that is a big deal. But doing this has made me feel empowered and free – it sounds silly I know!

I will be posting about my laser therapy soon.

 

Thanks for reading, I hope you enjoyed it?

Kristy

derm products

 

 

2 Comments

  1. Love your blog! Have you still been seeing a dermatologist? Mine really helped my eczema- although it lacks just one massive steroid prescription every time! X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

