Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude Foundation

Hi Everyone!

So I thought I’d treat you all to a product post, seeing as I’ve been away so long, and thought it would be fitting to write about the New Estee Lauder Double Wear Nude foundation.

Now I am THE biggest Double Wear fan and still to this day rank it as my #1 foundation (the original that is).

So just imagine my excitement when I heard the news that they were bringing out a lighter coverage foundation that has all the staying power benefits of the original Double Wear? Yeah I was pretty darn excited!

So off I popped on my lunch break to the Estee Lauder counter in Debenhams to grab a sample. The lady as always was really helpful, and even told me that it has been four years in the making. Hurrah this is going to be mega, I thought!

They didn’t have my usual shade which is Desert Beige so I opted for Dawn which I have had before and often goes well when I have a tan. I was a little surprised to see that the Dawn colour was actually lighter than the Dawn shade in the original formula, but it’s ok as it matches my skin colour perfectly at the moment.

As you can see in the below photos the original Double Wear foundation in the shade Dawn is on the left and the Nude Double Wear Dawn shade is on the right, which looks a lot lighter.

Oh the excitement that was bubbling inside me the next morning to try it out, was crazy high – esp for 7.30am in the morning!

I wasn’t sure what to use to apply the foundation and the Debenhams lady said to just use my fingers! Na I thought, I haven’t done that in years. So I decided to use my real Techniques Complexion Sponge (my fave).

And there it was, that minute I didn’t think would rise up to the surface and burst my bubble! The minute that indicated that actually I’m not that keen on it! I know shock horror! I had to apply a lot of it and ok, using a sponge prob wasn’t the best idea as it is a sheerer foundation, but I can apply anything with a sponge and it will look good normally!

So the next day I used a brush to apply it and still it is not floating my boat. I am persevering with my sample, praying every morning that today will be the day I fall in love with it but sadly, this still hasn’t happened.

The thing is I don’t actually know what it is I don’t like about it. I like that it is sheerer as I don’t always need the heavier coverage and once it’s on it does look ok. But I don’t like just ok – it’s not like its big sister that has my back when I summon it! Perhaps it is its watery formula, you do have to give it a good shake before hand!

 

It doesn’t last as long on me as Estee Lauder proclaims it should and it sits in my pores no matter what primer I use. It is however oil free which is always a huge bonus and doesn’t aggravate my Rosacea – so big tick there!

I guess our love affair just isn’t meant to be – sadly. I’ll use my sample up and you never know, that day may come when I sing hallelujah, but don’t hold your breathe will you?

Have you tried the new Double Wear Nude by Estee Lauder? What do you think of it?

Thanks for reading!

Kristy x

IMG_6751

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

